Y-12 Convicts Receive Sentencing Dates

Michael Walli, Steve Baggarly, Brad Lyttle, Mary Dennis Lentsch, Beth Rosdatter, Carol Gilbert, Jean Gump, Ardeth Platte, Jackie Hudson, Dennis Duvall, Bonnie Urfer, Bill Bichsel, David Corcoran (L to R, top to bottom)

Twelve disarmament activists have received sentencing dates.  The Twelve were convicted of federal trespass following a three-day jury trial in U.S. District court here during which the activists — under an order issued earlier by the court which effectively stripped the defendants of any substantive affirmative defenses — were prevented from questioning or even mentioning the outlaw status of nuclear weapons. The twelve were charged after a demonstration July 5, 2010 at the Y-12 nuclear weapons complex in Oak Ridge, Tenn. They face up to one year in prison and a $100,000 fine. 

Their sentencing dates are as follows:

Bill Bichsel Sept. 12 at 1:30
Jean Gump Sept. 12 at 9:30
Bonnie Urfer Sept. 14 at 1:00
Sr. Carol Gilbert Sept. 16 at 9:30
Sr. Ardeth Platte Sept. 16 at 1:30
Jackie Hudson Sept. 19 at 9:30
Michael Walli Sept. 19 at 1:30
Brad Lyttle Sept. 20 at 1:30
Steve Baggarly Sept. 20 at 9:30
Sr. Mary Dennis Lentch Sept. 21 at 9:30
Paula Rosdatter Sept. 21 at 1:30
Dave Corcoran Sept. 22 at 9:30
Dennis Duvall Sept. 22 at 9:30

For more info and updates contact:
Ralph Hutchison

Oak Ridge Environmental Peace Alliance

Liz McAlister
Jonah House

Leonard Eiger
Disarm Now Plowshares

John LaForge
(715) 472-4185

No comments:

Post a Comment

You must be a subscriber to leave comments.